Is CBD Oil Legal In Massachusetts 2019?
In 2011, House Bill 2758 was presented in Massachusetts and the movement for industrial hemp began. The bill was enacted 6 years later as HB-3818. The two common strains of CBD are Swiss Tsunami and Hurkle. Here we will explain what these are and the difference between the two. We will discuss the laws regarding CBD and how it can be purchased in Massachusetts.
The first strain, Swiss Tsunami, is rich in CBD. It is a genetic mix of Sour Tsunami and Swiss Gold. This mix produces over 14% CBD and half a percent of THC. The smell is described as ginger and skunk. When it is exhaled, the flavor is more of an orange peel. This strain is famous for reducing anxiety, inflammation, and nausea.
The second strain, Hurkle, has equal amounts of CBD and THC. It is a mix of Querki Indica and Harlequin Sativa. TGA Genetics grows hurkle. While the average is a half and half mix of THC and CBD, the numbers are not always equal. The blend relieves pain and reduces stress and anxiety. It is known for promoting both mental and physical relaxation. There are three flavors offered. These include coffee, chocolate, and grape.
Massachusetts Laws on CBD Oil
When House Bill 2758 was presented, the objective was the regulation of hemp cultivation. Over the next six years, the proposal was examined and changed until it became law in 2017. The idea behind the bill is to provide access to marijuana for medical purposes and adult consumption while regulating it for health and safety. This was considered more important than just encouraging the use of hemp throughout the state.
Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Program
Each registered patient is allowed to have 10 ounces of the medical strain in their possession over two months. Patients may also grow cannabis at home. In 2016, medical marijuana sales were over 100 million dollars. The number is expected to reach $238.4 million by 2021. In 2019, there were over 50,000 patients registered for medicinal marijuana use. To qualify, patients must have one of these conditions:
Massachusetts Recreational Marijuana Laws
Even though marijuana is classified as a Class D Controlled Substance, it is legal for those over the age of 21 to carry 28 grams for recreational use and has as much as 10 ounces at home. However, if a person carries more than an ounce they can be charged and jailed for up to six months. First-time offenses are usually punishable by probation. Commercial marijuana trade is growing in Massachusetts. By the year 2012, they expect to have made nearly a billion in revenue.
Purchasing CBD in Massachusetts
In Massachusetts, one can buy marijuana in stores or online. Massachusetts has one of the fastest growing J.S. CBD markets across the nation. Retail stores are opening continuously. The Boston area has more shops than anywhere else in the state, but cities like Georgetown, Franklin, East Bridgewater, and Natick are catching up with Boston.
The most popular stores from which to buy are the Franklin Smoke Shop in Franklin, Alternative Therapies in Salem, Art of Vaping in Braintree, and New England Treatment Access in Brookline. Because marijuana vendors are highly visible and transparent in their sales, top quality CBD oils and edibles can be purchased online within the state of Massachusetts.
Since the legalization of marijuana for medicinal and recreational use, tens of thousands of patients have been helped with various conditions and many more are celebrating the ability to purchase and use marijuana as they would alcohol. If one chooses to buy recreational marijuana in Massachusetts in 2019, one should know not to carry more than an ounce on their person at a time. Know the laws so you can follow the rules. You will find more information on CBD laws in Massachusetts and other states on our website.